Brave (2012 film)

Her hair alone is reason enough to see this movie.

So…in case I haven’t made it clear by now, I am a huge Disney/Pixar fan…which is why I went out tonight to watch their new movie, Brave! Now, I may be a bit biased, but I have to say it was everything I expected it to be: a fun time, stunning animation, a compelling moral conflict, and a badass princess with amazing hair for a main character.

Of course, as with most Disney movies, there are themes they touched on that I wished they’d developed further. But that is one of the reasons why I love Disney: they tend to leave a lot out—or, as I like to put it, to the imagination. Tonight, as I am going to sleep, I’m going to fill in the gaps in the plot line and the dialogue and re-experience the film in infinite ways, like I do with all the animated Disney movies.

People get annoyed at Disney because they tend to ‘sugar-coat’ things by always making it all right in the end, often by using some predictable and cockamamy twist of the plot that never resembles what might happen in real life. And to them I say, what the hell is wrong with that? Firstly, it’s nice to see problems work out well every once in a while, even if they are fictional. Secondly, Disney movies are kind of like the Bible: not meant to be taken seriously. No, I don’t expect that all my problems will work out just like Disney says they will, and if I did, that’d be my fault, not Disney’s. But I do learn lessons from them, like legends, and enjoy hearing them. Because that’s what they are, usually: legends.

And so, my dear readers, I leave you with a link to the trailer for Brave. I hope you enjoy it! Maybe you’ll even go see it. Or maybe not. Just remember how to watch Disney movies, and you should be set. 🙂

Also, they have really cool accents in Brave. Just sayin’.

