I must apologize for having disappeared for a few days (okay, like, over a week) without even writing a story. I must be like ten posts behind now. Sigh.

Why don’t I just tell you what I’ve been up to lately and we’ll call it even? Hopefully as I write I’ll come up with something inspiring enough to be worth the read. 🙂

Well, here goes:

When last we spoke, I believe, I was chillin’ on the Virginia coastline, visitin’ wit fambly, celebrating white America’s Independence Day. (Oh, ahem, uh…about that last post—I realized, after discussing it with my family, that it sounded like a jab at Great Britain. I did not mean it as a jab at Great Britain. I really was only discussing fireworks. Great Britain is awesome. You go, Great Britain. I’ll be coming over when Mitt Romney wins this year, so save me a flat in London.)

Man, there is just nothing like the beach. I hope that at least once a year for every year for the rest of my life I’ll be able to make a pilgrimage to the beach, and I think I’ll be pretty happy. Can’t imagine much better than a room in a lil motel on the ocean, a couple of sunny days, some nice blue waves, and just enough cash for some elephant ears and a few games of skee-ball. Oh, and someone to share it with. 🙂

But I digress. Kind of. Anyway, back home from the beach, and I finally got a new job! Hooray! Now I can buy myself a night at the beach, or voice lessons, or sitar lessons, or a night at the beach, or…or save up for my student loans…or time at the beach! Now, in the name of the Internet being a crazy place I won’t tell you exactly where my new job is but I will tell you that it involves lots of coffee.

Sigh. Me and coffee: a tale of unrequited love. You see, my dad is a lover of coffee and made sure that I grew up able to appreciate the subtle tones and differences in each different brew, the different roasts, the origin flavors, the tasting techniques, and brewing techniques…I really do love coffee. But coffee does not love me back. Caffeine doesn’t keep me awake, but makes me feel jittery and fatigued at the same time. Maybe I should try decaf…but I’d just feel like I was betraying coffee.

Oh well.

Again, I digress. Life’s been pretty good since I last posted to you, blog. I had the strangest sensation, the other day, of looking forward to going to work. That’s never happened before! I went to the doctor today and found out that my dizziness and headaches were probably nothing to worry about. I also finally finished my visa application and mailed it off and I guess this whole big ‘I’m going to India for a semester abroad’ thing is actually real…

…Nope. Still not real yet. I think it’s one of those things where it won’t seem real until I’m actually standing on Indian soil. And maybe not even then, maybe only on some random morning in October when I’m trying to catch a rickshaw to school and I realize I’m trying to catch a rickshaw to school.

Oh yeah, did I mention I’m studying abroad in India next semester? I’m going to study sitar. And Hindi. I try not to talk about it much at home because I think it worries my parents, but someday soon they are going to have to drive me to the airport and put me on that plane, and I personally would rather have cleared this guilty sort of air before then. I’ll let you know how it goes, blog.

Well, blog, so that’s what’s been up lately, and I promise every word is true. Hopefully I’ll be back with more stories but I realize, in retrospect, that randomly deciding one night to write a story every day is kind of like making a New Year’s resolution to lose 50 pounds by February. (Or, in my case, deciding to exercise at all. >.<) And I’ve never been good at keeping a diary. I don’t know how people do it. But I’m glad they do. Historical diaries are some of the most interesting documents possibly to read, as they show us that for the most part, people have been eating, shitting, and getting smashed with their friends on the weekends since long before 1650. And the more I hear about it, the more that’s true whether it’s England, or Africa, or the Middle East, or China, or Chile.

Or India.

